Skip to content

Flipped Class- Students Speak and I FINALLY listen!

April 21, 2012

“Just tell me what I need to know” seems to be a major concern to some students but there has been no secret of what they need to know.  I give them the learning outcomes at the beginning of the unit and they use them as a checklist at the end of the unit.

This is what I found so puzzling! How could they not know “what they need to know”??

What I just realized, after reading the latest Flipped class feedback, was they understand exactly what they need to know BUT what they don’t understand is…

How do they know they ACTUALLY know it?

I have been so concerned with coming up with activities to facilitate developing deeper understanding in the flipped class that I lost focus on finding ways for students to find out IF they have developed that understanding

The students need to be able to “check in”.  By this I mean, the students want to be reassured that they know all that will be expected of them during summative assessment.

I need to to come up with some better formative assessment tools to give them so they can “check in” during the learning process

This assessment could be:

  1. online/ in-class quizzes
  2. partner assessment
  3. Summarizing main ideas with partner feedback on twitter

This will be the next direction of my focus.  If any teachers have any good formative assessment tools they would be willing to share I’d love to hear them

Thanks

Scott

9 Comments leave one →
  1. claireonline permalink
    April 21, 2012 11:19 pm

    Hi Scott,
    I’m not sure if this is what you have in mind, but in Moodle you can create quizzes and set them up so that the students can re-take them multiple times. I have practice quizzes that draw from a bank of questions so that each attempt for each student is slightly different. It gives them practice, they get immediate feedback (if the questions are marked by the computer–eg matching, multiple choice, single word answer), and they feel good as their scores (hopefully) improve each time.

    Because it is in Moodle, you can easily view how students are doing on a particular concept. If you don’t already use Moodle there is a bit of a learning curve for the teacher in terms of setting up the quizzes, and for the students in terms of getting used to the environment. There may be better online quiz tools, but SD67 does have Moodle and all SD67 students automatically have a login and password which is handy.

    Cheers,
    Claire

  2. claireonline permalink
    April 21, 2012 11:24 pm

    Hi Scott,
    I’m not sure if this is what you have in mind, but in Moodle you can create quizzes that the students can take multiple times. In my courses I have practice quizzes that draw from a bank of questions; each time a student attempts the quiz they get a slightly different set of questions. It works well because students get feedback right away (if you’ve chosen question types that the computer can mark), they can try multiple times, and you can see see how everyone is doing.

    If you haven’t worked with Moodle before there is a bit of a learning curve. For the teacher it is getting used to how to set up the quizzes and for the students it is getting used to the Moodle environment (although many may have done Planning 10 in Moodle). There may be better/easier online quiz tools, but since SD67 has Moodle, and all SD67 students automatically have a username and login for Moodle it may be a good choice.

    Cheers,
    Claire

    • April 22, 2012 4:24 am

      Hi Claire,
      Thanks for the suggestion! I have just started looking into moodle and I know it has worked well for other teachers. I will try to set up some quizzes for my next unit using this platform

      Thanks again!

      Scott

      • claireonline permalink
        April 22, 2012 2:59 pm

        Oops, thought my first comment was lost, thus the two similar comments 🙂 Good luck with Moodle and feel free to contact me if I can be of help. I’m cthompson on summer.com.

      • April 22, 2012 4:09 pm

        no problem! Thanks!

  3. April 22, 2012 2:17 am

    Thanks for sharing your students’ feedbacks, it will help us all when we flip our classes. You definitely have a system that works and are headed in the right direction !!

    • April 22, 2012 4:26 am

      Thanks Christian! I hope others find the posts useful. I’ve learned a ton from other teachers who have shared their pitfalls.

      Scott

  4. April 22, 2012 8:44 pm

    I had a similar experience that I blogged about here http://smacclintic.edublogs.org/2012/02/18/students-ask-for-metacognitive-tools/
    I am a big fan of using Google Docs for feedback…both for the students and me as teacher.

    • April 23, 2012 12:19 am

      Getting feedback from students didn’t take long (~15 min) and it is so beneficial

      SH

Leave a Reply

