Skip to content

Flipped Class- It begins!

March 10, 2012

First flip class

The first flip video went pretty well.  It took me about an hour to write up my script and to capture the lesson (re-did it about 5 times for various reasons).  I found doing this video helped me think about what was really important and what I want the students to know.

At Home:

I had the students watch the video and fill out the main concepts and list any questions they have (changing this for next time.  See below)

The students came to class and everyone watched the video (checked their summaries).  Here is the feedback from various students:

  • “I liked the video.  It was pretty funny”.
  • “I liked being able to watch it when ever I wanted”
  • “Seriously, tell us the joke you mentioned!”
  • “I lost focus after the first few minutes.  I find it hard to follow along if I’m not doing something”
  • “I’m used to writing notes when the lesson is being delivered”

As a result of the feedback I’m going to give them a note sheet that follows the video format.  That way they can go through the video writing down the notes like they would in class.

Also, I am going to get them to do an anonymous survey after the next video to get some more feedback from everyone.

In class

1) Since we will have computers/ ipod/ phones out in order to watch/ review videos, we started by creating an electronic device policy for the classroom.  The students were great and came up with a reasonable policy that illustrates when it is acceptable, and when it isn’t acceptable, to be on your device in class.  In my bio 12 class cell phones have not been an issue so far but with the increase in the use, due to the videos, it could be.

2) We discussed questions some students had from the video but most said they understood the content…This is a concern I want to address.  Next time I will give them more direction in terms of what questions to discuss in groups (learning outcomes)?  That way it will give it a little more structure/ focus?

3)  We finished off by creating a digestive system pathway mobile.  Next class they will attach captions to illustrate what processes are occurring at specific points in the pathway

Take away:

1) One tough thing I found was I wanted to stand up there and give a summary and tell them everything they need to know.  The students just kept looking at me like they were waiting for me to tell them everything; like I did every class so far.  However, the activities we are doing will get them there.  I just have to trust that the activities that I have made are good and serve the purpose I hope they serve.

I may, just to start, do a summary at the beginning of class to ease myself into my new role and to ease the students out of the class format they’ve been following for 12 years.  Ideally, I would like all the discussion to come from the students with in groups.

2) This is a big change for both the students and myself and I won’t be able to come up with the perfect flipped class right off the bat.  It is going to take some trial and error and a lot of sharing of ideas to get something that will work for the students and myself.

3) The first thing I’m going to change is getting the students to write the notes down while they are going.  I would also like to end the video with the main concepts they should know after watching the videos.  If they don’t understand they can go back and watch parts again or bring questions, based on those concepts, to class to discuss

Thanks

Scott

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2012 3:50 am

    Great to hear how your first class went! I agree with you that it is a work in progress and “un-training” the students from everything that they know is tough and takes time. This semester I am just trying to get as much feedback as possible from students and other teachers alike so hopefully I have a better grasp on it to start fresh in September.

    Looking forward to keeping up with your adventures! (or, your students’ adventures :)!!)

    • March 11, 2012 3:25 am

      Thanks Crystal. It has been great to be able to follow along with your journey. It was very helpful for me when I was trying to figure out how to start flipping.

      Scott

  2. March 10, 2012 4:32 am

    Great post reflecting on this change to your classroom! I am working along the same journey. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. March 12, 2012 3:59 pm

    Great post! I just started flipping my own class about three weeks ago, and am seeing many of the same things. I’m finding blogging a great way to work my way through this first flip. It is definitely hard to “untrain” not just the students, but ourselves! I find myself with some of the same things you are experiencing. I am having my students take a ten question quiz (online- not for credit) after each lecture to be sure that they watched, as well as filling in notes as they follow along. That seems to be a good way to motivate them to watch the lectures. I’m excited to follow the rest of your journey, and to see what your class ends up looking like, since every flipped class is a little different! Good Luck!

    • March 13, 2012 4:45 am

      Thanks for the feedback Elizabeth. The blogging has been a great way for me to reflect on what I am doing in the classroom. Also, since I starting flipping my class, I find myself continually thinking and analyzing each activity to see if it is engaging and matching what I what it to do for the students’ understanding.

      Thanks again

      Scott

  4. March 13, 2012 3:26 am

    Sounds like you are off to a great start! The challenges you have identified are the same ones we all face…breaking from “traditional” mold is hard for students and the teacher. I have found that guided note taking sheets that are an outline that follows the video makes it easier for students to take notes. A final page of “Questions you should be able to answer now” helps the kids to self-assess if they indeed “got” the major points in the video lesson. Actively seek their feedback in the process….in class and anonymously. We use Google docs form for surveying kids. My blog includes some flipped classroom entries if you are looking for more thoughts/ideas. http://smacclintic.edublogs.org/
    Enjoy the flip!

    • March 13, 2012 4:51 am

      Thanks Scott. After the first day I made a note template for the next video. Now they have an outline to follow while they take notes. I’m not sure if it was you that mentioned a slide at the beginning and end to summarize the main idea and concepts the students should know but I started that as well. From what the students told me it really helped them focus on what is important to know before they come to class. It has only been 3 days of flipping but I love the extra time that we get to spend on trying to develop understanding. There is an extra 40 minutes each class where I get to connect with students. Do you tweet your blog posts? Seems to be the easiest way for me to follow flippers’ progress. Thanks for the feedback!

      Scott

Leave a Reply

